Both Pinarayi and Achuthanandan to contest

Posted on March 13, 2016

Putting an end to the ongoing debate over the candidature of V S Achuthanandan in the upcoming Kerala assembly elections, the CPM state secretariat here on Saturday cleared the names of both Achuthanandan and Pinarayi Vijayan.

Pinarayi Vijayan in Dharmadam Achuthanandan in malampuzha
Pinarayi Vijayan in Dharmadam Achuthanandan in malampuzha

Achuthanandan would contest from Malampuzha Constituency in Palakkad district. Pinarayi Vijayan would seek the mandate from Dharmadom in Kannur District.

According to sources, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury had a telephonic conversation with V S Achuthanandan during the day and is learned to have apprised him of the PB decision. However, it is not sure whether the party general secretary gave Achuthanandan any specific assurance regarding post-poll arrangements, which the veteran leader had been seeking from the central leadership. The CPM never indulges in the practice of projecting the chief minister candidate before polls, it was pointed out.