Janatha Dal (Secular) (JDS)

The Janata Dal (Secular) is a Centre-left ಕನ್ನಡ: ಜನತಾ ದಳ(ಜಾತ್ಯಾತೀತ)Indian political party[1] led by former Prime Minister of India H.D. Deve Gowda.The party recognized as state party in the states of Karnataka and Kerala . It was formed in July 1999 by the split of Janata Dal party.[2][3] It has political presence mainly in Karnataka. In Kerala, the party is part of the Left Democratic Front government. Apart from Mr. Gowda, the Party President other well known members of the party are H.D. Kumaraswamy (former Karnataka Chief Minister and President of the Karnataka State Unit of the JD(S),Veerendra Kumar (MP and Kerala Unit President) and H.D. Revanna (former Union Minister). There is also a National Vice President who is second in command to Mr.Gowda (National President) and a General Secretary in the party.